Breakfast Green Smoothie Bowl

Green Smoothie!

IMG_0135So, our Japanese fridge is really quite small.. I’ve been looking for some multi-purpose veggies that can be used for breakfast, lunch or dinner so that I only have a few things hanging out in there! One of my favorite multipurpose greens is spinach. This is a quick and tasty breakfast smoothie that I have been making regularly lately (especially on those hot mornings). My favorite trick to a cold and creamy smoothie is freezing the bananas before hand- when they blend up they leave your smoothie cool and smooth with less of an icy texture – its the best!

Here is my standard recipe for one breakfast smoothie bowl!

1 Frozen Banana

2 Ice Cubes

1 Large handful of Spinach or Kale

1/2 C Plain Greek Yogurt

Splash of pure Vanilla extract

Enough water to get everything moving (about 1/4 to 1/2 cup)

Optional: 1/3 C Rolled Oats (for a thicker, slightly chewy texture)

Handful of Almonds- for some healthy fats and texture

On top I like to add Crunchy granola or crispy cereal! I hope to Share my recipe for stove-top granola sometime next week 🙂

I hope you enjoy this fun way to get your veggies!

~ Kaci

Leave a Reply

