Mint Chocolate Brownie Ice Cream (Paleo)

Last Sunday, Hubby and I were sitting around the house and I got a huge urge to bake, cook and create!

DSC_0470

First, I started by making Lemon Shortbread Cookies for our neighbors and then I prepped the spaghetti squash for a new Pesto Chicken Spaghetti Squash Bake (SO GOOD! I will share this recipe too!). After this, the can of coconut milk I had in the cabinet called to me…. I knew Ice Cream was the way to go, and then.. this recipe was born.

DSC_0464

I have to say that we were both quite pleased with the result! I was so happy with how much Josh loves this ice cream… but I have to say – I didn’t tell him what’s all in it… somethings are best left to mystery!

Equipment needed: Blender, Ice cream maker – bowl frozen for at least 24 hours, freezer storage container (we use THESE), ingredients below. I have also heard that if you don’t have an ice cream maker you can place the ice cream base in a shallow dish in the freezer and stir ever half hour for 3-4 hours. I have never tried this recipe this way, so I can’t say how it will turn out though 🙂

DSC_0472

Recipes:

Paleo Brownie Bites: based on THIS recipe

1/2 Cup Peanutbutter

1 Banana (ripe)

3 TBSP honey

2 TBSP Coco (or Caco) Powder

Pinch of salt

Splash of Vanilla

Add all ingredients to a blender and blend until smooth (mixture will be thick). Spoon batter into greased mini-muffin tin and bake at 350° for 10-13 min (until firm- doesn’t need to be perfect for use in the Ice cream- I prefer slightly underbaked). Let cool, and chop into chunks.

Mint Ice Cream Base: Improvised from THIS recipe

1 Can Coconut Milk (full fat)

2 Cups Almond or Coconut milk (from a carton)

1/2 Avocado

2 Handfuls of Spinach

1.5 tsp Peppermint Extract

1/2 Cup Honey or Agave

Blend all ice cream ingredients into smooth mixture. Cool mixture for 1 hour in the fridge, then add to the ice cream maker and churn according to manufacturer instructions. Fold in brownie chunks, place in freezer safe container and freeze until firm (about 4 hours- I freeze it overnight)… or eat as “soft serve” right out of the machine like we did 🙂

DSC_0474

If you like Essential Oils, I think this would be great using Peppermint Essential oil in place of the Peppermint Extract!

We will definitely be making this again!

What is your favorite Ice Cream recipe? Did you know they have “Ume” Ice Cream here? Its a purple yam…

Enjoy!

♥ Kaci

One thought on “Mint Chocolate Brownie Ice Cream (Paleo)

  1. Got to try this recipe! Looks really good, love homemade ice cream:) I have a good chocolate ice cream recipe that could be inhansed by the Brownie bites!

    Like

Leave a Reply

