He was Seven Years in Building It.

Today is the 7 year Anniversary of the day I met my husband.

The Cabin

This is where we met!

(More or less… the exact spot is to the left of this picture)

There are so many little details I remember about that day… I remember how I did my hair, I remember what I was wearing, I remember conversations, smells, the sun, the water, his white shirt, his cross necklace with the black rope…

1914926_129211467011_493650_n

I remember meeting him and being so taken back by how I felt about him (which made me want to avoid him for the next two days – which I did to some extent). Im thankful for these memories, that could have been washed away, just like any other day.

1914926_129211427011_2197567_n

I came across a note I had written to Josh in my old phone (but didn’t ever send) that I have saved until this day. Apparently I had written it on the 4 year anniversary of our first date Nov, 28 2013 (our first date was on Nov, 28 2009). This note was written while reflecting on the fact that, a few weeks before this, on Nov, 11 2006 – it was the 7 year anniversary of when I gave my life to Christ.

Today seemed like an appropriate day to share this note with you all, so here goes…

“ ‘He was seven years in building it.’

Seven years ago this month, the month know as Bul in the Hebrew calendar, I gave all of my life over to Jesus Christ. At the time I was excited, but didn’t know what this meant. Today, looking back, I see His loving hands shaping me. Through pain, disappointment, joy, extreme love, incomparable friendships and in large part, our relationship. He was building me as the house of The Lord. A Holy vessel in which His Spirit is proud to dwell.
Why did The Lord give me such an amazing, strong, patient, and wonderful man to help shape me? Although He has used pain and heartache… and will continue to, I’m sure… just as Jesus had endure all of these… But he has give me this great blessing, a man. A man to walk beside me, to hold my hand as we stroll, to hold my heart as it breaks, and hug me tight when I’m falling apart. A man to open my eyes more clearly to who Jesus is and to gently lead me as I am conformed to His likeness. Thank you for Joshua Lord!
Thank you for this adventure partner for me to love, encourage, empower and enjoy my whole life through! May our marriage be built on your life, by your strength and according to your Word. We need you more than anything Lord, you life is the power we need for a life-long marriage that thrives in glorifying You, starting now… lasting for eternity. Thank you Lord.

1 Kings 6:37 -38

Ps. 4 year anniversary of our first date!!!”

 

That was my little note, written just 2 days before we were to be married. I so badly wanted to edit this while I was typing it up! To make myself sound not so… young.. or naive… or cliche or something… but that’s where my heart truly was! A moment in my heart, captured in time.

Here is the scripture that God used to stir all this in my heart:

“In the fourth year the foundation of the house of the Lord was laid, in the month of Ziv. And in the eleventh year, in the month of Bul, which is the eighth month, the house was finished in all its parts, and according to all its specifications. He was seven years in building it.” 1 Kings 6:37-38 ~ talking about Solomon building the temple for the Lord.

I remember waiting for Josh to propose. Especially those last 6 months before we were engaged… thinking that any major holiday or event might be “the day”.

I also remember asking telling the Lord that I was ready to be married. But there was still so much preparation in my heart that had to be done in the waiting. He was seven years in building it. Building my heart to be ready… rooting and grounding me in Him before I met the difficulties and struggles that come with every marriage.

Not that I was perfectly ready, but that He has perfect timing.

What are you waiting to come to fruition in your life?

Maybe He’s building it.

Happy day we met 7 years ago, Handsome. I love so much more of what’s inside you, that I didn’t even know existed that day. So glad you’re mine.

4 thoughts on “He was Seven Years in Building It.

  1. You two are a great couple! God had everything planned out for you to meet, and you were ment to be! It seems he always catches us when we least expect it:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

