Some Favorite Books

Hello Friends!

Today I wanted to do a light-hearted post about some of my very favorite books.

Fun Fact: I hardly read anything but text books for a good 6 years, but ever since about a year and a half ago, reading has become one of my favorite ways to spend time.

I’m planning on doing several posts that each give a review of some of my very favorite books. These aren’t books I’m reading right this moment (per se’) but are tried and true favorites. All three books in this review are ones I would recommend in a heartbeat! I hope you love them as much as I do…

1. Hinds Feet on High Places: by Hannah Hurnard

This was the first real book I read while in Dental School. It is an “allegory” meaning that the names of people and places are the same as their character… for example, the main character’s name is ‘Much-Afraid’ and the book is about her journey with the ‘Good Shepard’ to the ‘High Places.’ She has encounters with her cousins Pride, Resentment, Self-Pity along the way… It is just SO beautifully written.

img_2533

Something else you should know about me is I don’t do Fiction. I just can’t do it. I have literally forced myself to get through some fiction books… but what happens is I get part way through and after multiple attempts not to fall asleep, I decide I don’t care. So I stick to Non-Fiction type books, I particularly love a good memoir!

So, Hinds Feet on High Places may seem like a weird choice… but it is so relatable. When I read it I fell like she is talking directly into my life… she captures the emotions and struggles so accurately and poetically… I’ll call it honorary Non-Fiction 😉

2. Love Does: by Bob Goff

I’ll be honest… I read this book because I got it for free.

img_2539

I was in my “non-reader” phase where all I read was my Bible and whatever Biological pathway I needed to memorize, when Bob Goff came to speak at our church and gave EVERYONE a free copy of this book. My roommate at the time was a avid reader, and she told me it was good so I should give it a try.

Well, I must have been bored one day because I picked it up and LOVED IT!! It was so hilarious I was crying! I couldn’t help but read chapters out loud to Josh on the phone, and I started to restrict how much I would read at night because I didn’t want it to end!

Love Does is a winner for sure! It is such a funny and motivating book, my Mom and Grandma loved it too.

3.The Meaning of Marriage: by Timothy Keller

This book was recommend to me by a couple from my Church in Portland who did pre-marital counseling. They helped lead a small group that I was part of, and said we all needed to read it, whether we were married or not… even if we didn’t plan on getting married. img_2534

It changed the way I view love, it changed the way I thought about marriage, and committing to one person for my whole life… Definitely a must read.

My favorite idea from this book is that Jesus loves us, not because we are beautiful, but to make us more beautiful.

I think about that a lot in relation to how I treat Josh. It is my commitment to him to love him when his words and actions and attitudes are beautiful to me and when they are not, because I love him to help make him more beautiful…

Well, that was more fun than I thought it would be! 

I can’t wait for the next book review!

If you have any must-reads, please, comment down below!

❤ Kaci

Leave a Reply

